Silence (Part One)

For all my life, I’ve lived in a partially silent world.  Sounds muffled, nothing ever truly clear.   Sounds that most people take for granted.

Breeze whispering through the leaves.

Birds chirping and wings fluttering.

Lovers and friends sharing secrets under their breaths.

Feet shuffling through the golden sand at the beach.

Even with an electronic device in the ear, I cannot hear any of these. I try not to dwell on what I’m not able to do, but being an observer of things around me, there are some days when my human shortcomings get me down.

I’m a perfectionist.  And I expect no weaknesses from myself.

How unrealistic.

Leave a Reply

