Passing of a Life

Life.

Oh, how precious you are.

Here one moment.

Gone in the next.

You are my greatest teacher.

You are my darkest fear.

I have learned to embrace your every blessing

And respect your every lesson and challenge.

You bring encouragement when I am troubled.

You bring wisdom as I grow in experience and maturity.

But, as with all life, death eventually comes.

This is the natural process

We should not fear

For each of us must pass this way eventually.

So, come, let us embrace

Life for all its worth

For it can be gone in an instance.

Article © Carrie A. Golden. All rights reserved.
Published on 2008-03-10 Piker Press

I love to write poetry.  It’s something I know I don’t do enough of.  Writing and reading poems have helped me through some of my darkest times as well as the happiest of times.  This particular one I wrote shortly after my miscarriage.  It helped me view life as the teacher rather than the punisher.  It also helped me accept death as the natural passage we must all take one day.  Today, I ponder on a life, my aunt, who very recently took that journey across the threshold to the golden shores beyond.

God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

