A Dear Journal Prayer

Dear Journal,

Found out a friend of the family has an untreatable form of muscular myopathy

He’s a family man with a son whose the same age as mine

Who loves to play sports

 

I have a father who’s in the moderate stage of emphysema

A man who’s still has so much to live for

With a wife of 46 years to spend many more with

 

A few months earlier I lost a good friend suddenly

She passed on from this life to another beyond

Life has been dull and quiet without her laughter and smiles

 

Enjoy your today in its fullness

for tomorrow may not come

 

Dear Journal

 

My heart is sad for them, yet I’m grateful for what I have and had

in these individuals

for they have blessed me with their lives and courage

 

I pray that I can be a blessing to another

rather than a hindrance or a burden

A-men

Leave a Reply

