Happy Ending

Is there any such thing as a “happy ending”?

I met a woman years ago who agonized over growing old.  She kept telling me she’d prefer to die young.   At the time, I couldn’t understand why she wanted her life to end prematurely.

A little over ten years later, I”m starting to understand exactly how she felt.

Most people would call this the “mid-life crisis.”

I prefer to call it the “crossroads.”

It is up to you to decide how to think and feel about how you’ve lived your life.   For me, I have so many regrets.   These continue to haunt me but I’ve pretty much accepted that they will for the remainder of my life.

How can one’s regrets destroy his or her future?

By dwelling on the past.  It’s so easy to do, isn’t it?  To continue to punish ourselves and never allow oneself to be truly happy.

So, the question is…is there any such thing as a “happy ending”?

The answer depends solely on you.

//

Leave a Reply

