Tired of Being a Recluse

11891166_10153593240734588_4889268250669170472_n

 

Not sure if winter is to be partially blamed, but I’m feeling pretty much all of this above and it’s really frustrating the heck out of me.  Ever since I left the workforce a year ago (it was one year on the 23rd), I’ve struggled to get on a schedule of some kind.  Any kind.   So far, I’m failing.    There are boxes and bins that still need to be unpacked.  The daily cleaning and other various chores.  Writing and reading that I really should be doing.  I just can’t seem to get motivated to want to work on any of them.

What is wrong with me? 

anxiety

I’ve been feeling cooped up; but the thought of leaving the house to venture out and mingle with the locals fills me with anxiety.  I should be getting involved with the various activities at my son’s school.  Lord knows I’ve been invited several times to do just that.  I’ve chickened out each and every time, always with an excuse.

Hubby’s been trying to encourage me to go to a church.  We really need an extended family since I’m so far from my own.   At this point, he’s been unsuccessful.

I’m getting angry at myself.  Why can’t I just go and do all of these like I used to?  What the heck happened to me over the years?  Why have I become such a recluse?

Something got to give.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Tired of Being a Recluse

  1. Start small and don’t be hard on yourself. Do you miss the workforce? It might be helpful for you to sit down and do a reflective evaluation to try and get to the root of the problem. When did you first start noticing you were becoming a recluse? Why have you lost joy in things you once liked? If the workforce was giving you structure, is there anyway you could go back or find a hobby that provides meaningfulness in your life? Being in a rut is no fun, but there is no way to come out of it until you first begin to identify what is causing it.

    -The Phoenix

    • These are things I’ve been struggling with for several years; they seem to be getting worse rather than better. A lot of it ties in with my progressive disability. But, you are so right. I need to get to the root of what’s causing the anxiety and depression in order to gain better understanding as well as a way to regain control of my life. Thank you so much for your encouraging words and insight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

