Masks and Sadness

I Will Wear Masks

© Joe Dirt

Published on May 2011

In times of trouble and insanity
I carry masks to disguise
the pain I carry
secure behind my eyes

I can never let out again
the misery I hide
to hell with my dignity
to hell with my pride

from this day forward
and for ever more
I will mount this mask
that will be my lore

No reaching out when I am weak
no solace will I seek

when you look for answers
when you say your prayers
all you will see is masks
and no pain that I bare

Source: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/i-will-wear-masks

For many reasons known only to me, I am feeling extra melancholic today.
One thought on “Masks and Sadness

Leave a Reply

